Jackson Browne - The Pretender

Jackson Browne
The Pretender
Label: Asylum Records ‎– 6E-107
Type: Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue, PRCW
Country: US
Date of released: 1977
Category: Rock
Style: Soft Rock, Pop Rock

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 The Fuse
Bass – Leland SklarDrums – Russell Kunkel*Piano – Craig DoergeSlide Guitar – David Lindley
A2 Your Bright Baby Blues
Acoustic Guitar – Jackson BrowneBass – Chuck RaineyDrums – Jim GordonOrgan – Billy Payne*Piano – Roy BittanSlide Guitar, Harmony Vocals [Harmony] – Lowell George
A3 Linda Paloma
Guitar [Vijuella], Guitar, Backing Vocals [Background Vocal] – Luis F. Damian*Guitarrón [Guitaron], Violin, Backing Vocals [Background Vocal] – Roberto GutierrezHarp, Backing Vocals [Background Vocal], Arranged By – Arthur GerstOther [Millones De Gracias A] – Van Dyke ParksRecorded By – Greg Ladanyi
A4 Here Come Those Tears Again
Bass – Bob GlaubDrums – Jim GordonElectric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar – Fred TackettHarmony Vocals [Harmonies] – Bonnie Raitt, Rosemary ButlerOrgan – Mike Utley*Performer [Random Notes] – Jon LandauPiano – Billy Payne*Soloist [Guitar Solo], Guitar – John Hall*Written-By – Jackson Browne, Nancy Farnsworth
B1 The Only Child
Acoustic Guitar – Fred TackettBass – Chuck RaineyDrums – Jeff PorcaroElectric Guitar – Albert LeeHarmony Vocals [Harmonies] – Don Henley, John David SoutherPercussion – Gary ColemanPiano – Billy Payne*Violin – David Lindley
B2 Daddy's Tune
Arranged By [Horns Arranged By] – Jim HornBass – Leland SklarDrums – Jeff PorcaroGuitar [Guitar Left] – Fred TackettGuitar [Guitar Right] – Waddy*Horns – Chuck Finley*, Dick Hyde, Jim Horn, Quitman Dennit*Piano – Craig DoergeSlide Guitar – David Lindley
B3 Sleep's Dark And Silent Gate
Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar – Fred TackettArranged By [Strings Arranged By] – David CampbellBass – Leland SklarDrums – Jeff PorcaroMixed By – Val GarayPiano – Craig Doerge
B4 The Pretender
Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar – Fred TackettArranged By [Strings Arranged By] – David CampbellBass – Leland SklarDrums – Jeff PorcaroHarmony Vocals [Harmonies] – David Crosby, Graham NashPiano – Craig Doerge

Companies, etc.

  • Manufactured By – Elektra/Asylum/Nonesuch Records
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Asylum Records
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Elektra/Asylum/Nonesuch Records
  • Recorded At – Sunset Sound
  • Mixed At – The Sound Factory
  • Mastered At – A&M Mastering Studios
  • Pressed By – PRC Recording Company, Compton, CA
  • Copyright (c) – Elektra/Asylum/Nonesuch Records
  • Published By – Swallow Turn Music
  • Published By – WB Music Corp.
  • Published By – Open Window Music
  • Published By – Warner-Tamerlane Publishing Corp.


  • Art Direction, Design – Gary Burden
  • Liner Notes [Brown And Agile Child] – Pablo Neruda
  • Management – Mark Hammerman
  • Mastered By – Bernie Grundman
  • Mixed By – Greg Ladanyi (tracks: A1 to B2, B4)
  • Mixed By [Assisted By] – Dennis Kirk (tracks: A1 to B2, B4)
  • Other [The Road] – Howard Burke
  • Other [The Sky] – Peter Golden
  • Other [With Thanks To] – Tony Lane
  • Photography By [Back Cover Photo] – Jackson Browne
  • Photography By [Front Cover Photo By] – Tom Kelley Studios
  • Producer – Jon Landau
  • Recorded By [Additional Recording] – Mark Howlett
  • Recorded By [Assisted By] – Paul Black
  • Recorded By [Tracks Recorded By] – John Haeny (tracks: A1 to A2, A4 to B4)
  • Translated By [Brown And Agile Child] – Kenneth Rexroth
  • Written-By – Jackson Browne (tracks: A1 to A3, B1 to B4)


PRC, Compton pressing denoted by PRCW plant code printed on labels.
Reissue of Asylum 7E-1079.

Includes inner sleeve with lyrics.

Recorded at Sunset Sound, Mixed at The Sound Factory with Aphex Aural Exciter, Mastered at A&M.
Managed By: for One On One

With Thanks To Lowell George and Valerie Carter for their inspiration and Elizabeth Reynolds for everything else.
Thanks always to David Geffen.

Bonnie Raitt & Lowell George appear courtesy of Warner Bros. Records, Inc.
Graham Nash & David Crosby appear courtesy of ABC Records, Atlantic Records & Polydor International GmbH.

All songs, published by Swallow Turn Music, WB Music Corp. ASCAP, except "Here Come Those Tears Again" by Swallow Turn Music, WB Music Corp. ASCAP and Open Window Music, Warner-Tamerlane Publishing Corp. BMI

℗ 1976 by Asylum Records

℗&© 1976 Elektra/Asylum/Nonesuch Records
Mfg. by Elektra/Asylum/Nonesuch Records

Another same catalog # exists with matrix# 7E-1079-A SP/7E-1079-B SP on labels.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Matrix Side A, On Label): 6E-107-A (PRCW)
  • Matrix / Runout (Matrix Side B, On Label): 6E-107B (PRCW)
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side A, Etched [var 1]): 6E-107 7̶E̶-̶1̶0̶7̶9̶ A-6 PRC PRC
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side B, Etched [var 1]): 6E 107 B-8 PRCW B-I
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side A, Etched [var 2]): 6E-107 A-11-PRC-1 PRC
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side B, Etched [var 2]): 6E 107 B-8 PRCW -I

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
7E-1079 Jackson Browne The Pretender ‎(LP, Album, CSM) Asylum Records 7E-1079 US 1976
TC-5107 Jackson Browne The Pretender ‎(Cass, Album, Club) Asylum Records TC-5107 US Unknown
K4 53048, K4.53048 Jackson Browne The Pretender ‎(Cass, Album, RE) Asylum Records, Asylum Records K4 53048, K4.53048 UK Unknown
K 53048 Jackson Browne The Pretender ‎(LP, Album, Orl) Asylum Records K 53048 UK 1976
PKF-5144Y Jackson Browne The Pretender ‎(Cass, Album) Asylum Records PKF-5144Y Japan Unknown